Im new. Looking for a certain genre of movies.

Text-only Version: Click HERE to see this thread with all of the graphics, features, and links.

cyb3rvampire
Hey guys. Im new to this whole "movie buff" thing. I enjoy watching movies, but recently it seems like there is so much shit out there, im 15 and i want to see some awesome independent/underground stuff. Im really open to any movies. The movies i like are usually pretty dark and gloomy, such as....Fight Club (great book too, and the author has many other great books) American History X, Natural Born Killers, Helter Skelter, and the FIRST matrix. I like a lot of Oliver stones stuff that i have seen, NBK, The doors, JFK.
I know theres a lot of good stuff out there, but i just dont know where to look. If anyone can recomend any movies that are simialr to these, please go ahead and tell me! or if you know of any movies you think i would like based on the movies i have enjoyed so far. Thank you! im open to anything, im willing to give anything a shot, even if its an independent film.

BackFire
Moved to Movie discussion...

anyway, some good dark films are....

Irreversible
I Stand Alone
Happiness
Donnie Darko
Kids
Man Bites Dog
Requiem for a Dream
Pi
Henry - Portrait of a Serial Killer
Monster
28 Days Later
Taxi Driver
Last House on the Left

And all Stanley Kubrick films are a must. (Full Metal Jacket, The Shining, A Clockwork Orange, Dr Strangelove and Paths of Glory)

Dr. Strangelove
Ditto to Kubrick, especially Clockwork nothing more dark and gloomy than traveling with Alex and friends.

Also I would say Memento and Do The Right Thing which isn't really dark, but it is gloomy and tense.

Cinemaddiction
Indie stuff and otherwise you may like:

May
Gummo
Bully
The Believer
12 Monkeys
Romper Stomper
City of God
Se7en
True Romance
Donnie Darko
Battle Royale
Wasabi

Myth
Scarface and Boondock Saints (not really gloomy though). I really think Seven would be good for you which BF already mentioned.

BackFire