I was just thinking...

Text-only Version: Click HERE to see this thread with all of the graphics, features, and links.

Myth
I just thought of this because of the Goth thread and D-Double's post the other day about his dreadlocks.

If people get offended by people's comments when they dress weird, why do they dress weird?

For years I thought that goths and people with other unusual looks dressed the way they did and weren't bothered by people pointing them out (and I'm talking about nice comments btw).
Last year I was a Freshman in college and started doing a lot of weird things with my hair. Our school president is the nicest guy and he' will come and talk to everybody in the most friendly way. To me, he often tells me how fun it is to see me because every week for a couple months it seemed that I had a different hair style. At lunch one day, I just happened to be sitting at a table with a bunch of people and this girl across the table always has weird punk like hair. The president came up to me and said, "I like your hair today. It excites me everytime I see something different on you." There was no sarcasm, the guy was simply being nice as always. Once he left, the girl said, "Don't you hate that" in a bitchy voice. I asked her "What?" and she told me "When people say something about our hair because it looks different."

This threw me off because I have no problem doing weird things for fun because it doesn't bug me when people approach me. Yet this girl apparently gets offended everytime she gets a compliment about her hair because she knows the only reason it was complimented was because it was different. So why does she do it? Why does anybody who gets offended by things like this do odd things with their looks? It is stupid. Somebody help me out here.

Filth