Starting A Band

Text-only Version: Click HERE to see this thread with all of the graphics, features, and links.

SnakeEyes
Okay, a couple months ago, I started playing guitar and i am not THAT great, but i can play some stuff. A little while later, me and my friends were thinking about starting a band. All the pieces seemed to be falling into place after that, and so we got the parts down. They get their instruments soon and i already have mine. We are gonna start "practicing" and so forth near the beginning of 2005. I am gonna be the vocalist...

Any advise for us?

(btw, musical influences: Green Day, The Ramones, and Blink 182 are our main ones) rock

ChickinMeat
my advice would be try to write your own material, not do covers, that way you will be proud of what you guys play, and you will learn music at the same time!

thats what i did in my old band, but then im being a hypocryte as half our songs were covers! but writing your own stuff is satisfying.

EDIT: oh yeah, i play bass!

SnakeEyes
uh oh... our entire plan was to play covers first until we got good enough to write fairly decent music...

So u play bass eh? neato.

Darth Revan
Actually, I would think it would be a good idea to get more experience playing other people's music as a group, then start writing stuff later. If your friends don't even have instruments yet it's probably best that they learn to play them before you try to write anything no expression

MornGlory
ummm,... do you need a groupie??

I'll be your first...

ChickinMeat
but then if you learn other peoples songs, you are trying to play to their ability level, while if you try to write your own shit, then you will playing at your level.

loserib
just start playing with your band the talent part will come as you go

Bierbommetje
Pay attention to each other, instead of just trying to play your part without paying attention to what the rest (most importantly the drummer and bassist) are doing.