Here's what I don't get.....

Text-only Version: Click HERE to see this thread with all of the graphics, features, and links.

Rogue Jedi
ok....anakin and padme were supposed to be deeply in love, right? well, when she asks him to run away with her, to raise their children in peace, why doesnt he do it? i know that if the love of my life (FJ) asked me to drop everything and run away with her, even though i was a power hungry sith apprentice, i would drop my lightsaber, run away with her, and live happily ever after.

Darth Plagueis
"You don't know the POWER of the darkside, I CANNOT resist my master..."

Batman316
would have made for a boring ending and non existant OT

Rogue Jedi
well, they say that love conquers all.

ShadowKing
"I have more power than any Jedi. I'm more powerful than the Emperor! I can defeat him and then you and I can rule the galaxy in peace..."

Darth Plagueis
Yeah, thats another point...he came up with an alternate 'happy ending' plan and she refused him.

Rogue Jedi
well, if FJ told me to do it, i would do it. what was more important to him? padme, or attaining power? he did it all for her, remember?

Lord S
I think he loved ultimate power as much as he loved her.

unno
That's exactly the point (and something critics usually fail to see.) The reason that everyone bashes Natalie and Hayden's "lack of chemistry" is that Padme and Anakin aren't really in love. They're caught up in some sort of stupid puppy-love, obsession with each other. He doesn't really care that much about her as a person; she just sort of represents this ideal to him, kind of like a surrogate mother. He doesn't want to be weak like he was with Shmi, so he tries to get greater power. That's much more important to him than Padme.

Unno

Darth Plagueis
Plus she's hot and he's the only Jedi "gettin some" stick out tongue

theshakl
I think you got it with the idea that he wants both equally...he wants Love...but HIS way..... where he is in control u know?