Are there no muscians in this place?

Text-only Version: Click HERE to see this thread with all of the graphics, features, and links.

OB1-adobe
Just curious, because nobody in here seems to talk about what kind of music they're writing, or instruments or whatever.

Every thread is like:

"OH MY GOD FALL OUT BOY!!!!!!!!!!! THEY'RE SOOOOOOOOOO HOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

lil bitchiness
Fall Out boy...ok hot yes, but musically good - not really. Well not my thing anyway.

I'm not really a musician - i do play bass guitar, but i hardly think that qualifies me as a musician.

There are actually quite a few musicians around - some who write songs, and many who play instruments.

Use a serach function, im sure you'll find lots of threads about musicians around here.

OB1-adobe
Have you ever written anything on bass?

Twilight Janick
I am the alto sax champion of the Jedi Order. I never wrote anything for alto sax.

lil bitchiness
No.

Bass is not really an instrument you can ''write music on'' per se. I do like to play occasional blues and jazz on it - it helps me improve, although much of it is far more difficult than rock or alternative.

OB1-adobe
I have been playing bass for 14 years. Its hard to tell exactly how good i am, its hard to tell. Mainly because I'm self taught in everything, and I can't say with a lot of confidense that I studied and am totally well versed in this and that.

I 'm not really a show off type of bassist. I don't walk into a guitar store, and go "hey everybody look at me!" I don't really play a lot of funk, even though I would like to learn more. I try to be semi versed in all styles of bass playing from heavy ass bass lines, to blues jam, to total spontanous jazz style jamming, thumb mute reggae, slap funk, and techno style.

Mostly my forte is righting melodies, and really melodic things.

Bass can be a righting instrument, you just just need to think who its going to counter act with other intruments.