What can be done texas

Text-only Version: Click HERE to see this thread with all of the graphics, features, and links.

btld_djinn
I am currently a law student and I have a friend who's trying to find out what he can do. He was charged with domestic violence(first offense), against his wife. He got bonded out, talked to her and I guess they agreed she would drop the charges. I guess they got into an argument last night and now she says she is going to push the charges again. What can be done, and how is this going to affect his case? Will she be able to push the charges even after she has now held that she would drop them for almost a month before turning around and saying that she was pressing them anyway?

~Flamboyant~
Dude, you're the law student. ermm

Gregory
I advise a nuclear strike against Austin, followed by economic sanctions.

Alliance
I think Texas should be givne back to Mexico.

"We're sorry we took it from you, here...have it back."

jaden101
yes the same charges can be applied for the same offence because there was never a final judgement passed on the charges....

only when that occurs do the protections of "autrefois acquit (double jeopardy) apply

botankus
Where's Gay Guy when you need him? After all, he was a professor and always knew how to solve everyone's problems for them.

Soleran
Originally posted by btld_djinn
I am currently a law student and I have a friend who's trying to find out what he can do. He was charged with domestic violence(first offense), against his wife. He got bonded out, talked to her and I guess they agreed she would drop the charges. I guess they got into an argument last night and now she says she is going to push the charges again. What can be done, and how is this going to affect his case? Will she be able to push the charges even after she has now held that she would drop them for almost a month before turning around and saying that she was pressing them anyway?