Womens representation in horror film? :D

Text-only Version: Click HERE to see this thread with all of the graphics, features, and links.

jordanbond007
Hello everybody i am a Media studies student and am currently gathering primary and secondary research for my critical research exam. I was wondering if i could ask for your opinion of this question;
"To what extent has the representation of women in horror movies changed since the 60's"
I am using the movies King kong, Halloween,Misery,Alien, and Psycho as my key examples.
If you could give me opinions or replies i would be so greatful big grin
thank you!

ragesRemorse
I dont think characters in Horror movie's have changed much at all. There is more of a prevalent focus towards realistic horror movie's today than there was in the 60's-80's but even then there were both, realistic and formulaic horror movie's. We may see more female heroine's and antagonists today but again, this is nothing new. You can not change the horror movie formula to much. If you do, you will have a completely different type of movie. One of the main ingredient for a horror movie is victims. Our society is still struggling with a few sexist issues and by no means do i mean to sound sexist but woman are much more sexual, in presence, than men. Woman also appear weaker in the physical structure than of a man. Woman used to be perceived weaker in every way, which along with their natural sensuality may explain why they were more prominently chosen to be the victim and hero in many older, horror movies.