String Theory

Text-only Version: Click HERE to see this thread with all of the graphics, features, and links.

Daemon Seed
We all had a lovely chat about this in another thread, anyway I was reading in the paper the other day when the large Hadron Collider is turned up we may see other dimensions. I am a biologist and not a physicist can anybody explain to me how? I read Flatland years ago and this idea we will see other dimensions, seems to go contrary to common sense and my understanding of dimensions.

inimalist
what did you see that said the LHC may provide a test of string theory?

I've never heard this...

Daemon Seed
Originally posted by inimalist
what did you see that said the LHC may provide a test of string theory?

I've never heard this...

It was in the Times and on Sky News.

inimalist
weird, I'll look it up smile

Daemon Seed
Originally posted by inimalist
weird, I'll look it up smile

Good stuff :-)

Symmetric Chaos
When you smash two things together they break into pieces. Smash them harder and you get smaller pieces (throwing your phone at the wall vs dropping a bowling ball on it). Theories make a prediction about what will happen when you smash the particles with a particular amount of force. Before the LHC colliders couldn't smash things hard enough to get effects where String Theory disagrees with anyone else.

inimalist
from what I've seen, its eliminating different string theories. Because string theory is all over the place, different interpretations predict radically different things. For instance, the hypothesis that miniature black holes might form from the LHC was based on one interpretation of string theory, which had evidence shown against it, whereas other interpretations predicted no black holes, which was supported.