Why Does The US Have Some Many Agencys?

Text-only Version: Click HERE to see this thread with all of the graphics, features, and links.

Colossus-Big C
Department Of Defence
CIA
FBI
Homeland Security
Secretary Of Defence
Anti-Terrorism

All of these do similiar jobs, would it be better if just one agency did all that shit? Or reduce it to just two that covers all those areas(which are not that different)
I have heard some of those dont even share information with each other.

Im no expert . this is just opinion.

What about the Navy and Marines?

Symmetric Chaos
No good comes of combining agencies for the hell of it. They need to be doing very similar things. For the most part these ones aren't.

DOD = Everything Military, including the Army, Navy, and Air Force (the Secretary of Defense is the head of them whole thing)
Self explanatory. Already an enormous department.

CIA = Foreign Intelligence Gathering
FBI = Domestic Intelligence Gathering
Those two are completely different from legal and practical standpoints.

DHS = Non-military Domestic Defense
Lots of boring administrative and legal stuff plus recovery from all kinds of disasters in the states. Technically they're anti-terrorism too, but I get the impression that the FBI and CIA are more important. Like the DOD this is already an enormous department.

Digi
Originally posted by Colossus-Big C
All of these do similiar jobs, would it be better if just one agency did all that shit? Or reduce it to just two that covers all those areas(which are not that different)
I have heard some of those dont even share information with each other.

Im no expert . this is just opinion.

Work at any medium-to-large company for a while, and then tell me this is a good idea. Increasing efficiency is always good. Arbitrary mergers are not.

Bardock42
Honestly I agree with the OP. There should just be one agency...the agency of stuff.

And it's one of the three I would get rid off if I was president.

Lestov16