My views on Darth Maul

Text-only Version: Click HERE to see this thread with all of the graphics, features, and links.

forcex
This is my first time on this site, but this thought about Darth Maul has been eating at me ever since TPM.

Maul seems to be little more than a force wielding thug. Sure, he is no Vader and certainly no match for a Jedi in a fair fight -- his fight against Qui-Gon was not a fair fight.

Why would Palpatine surround himself with the dim wits of a guy like Maul. He is more of a tool than an accomplice. The one use for him might be in light saber combat practice.

Clone Maul a few times and now you have a handy sparring partner who is physically powerful, force sensitive, but not really using the force to the full potential.

A scene I would have liked to have seen--maybe adds 5 min to a 3 hour long film

Personally, I think that Anakin turned evil too easy. He was after all the chosen one and a great Jedi and though not without his shortcomings he mass murdered younglings far too easily. I would like to have seen the scene where Anakin pledges himself to Palpatine to involve some dark side training. At first, a door opens and out pops a clone of Maul who Anakin defeats handily. After some harsh coaching/correction by Palpatine where Anakin is instructed not to kill Maul with a light saber (anyone can swing a lazer blade after all) and not to kill in self defense. In order to become a powerful sith, Palpatine force-yanks Anakin's lightsaber out of his hands and instructs Anakin to kill with the force, to "will" someone to death (more appropriate later, think padme giving up on life).