KillerMovies - Movies That Matter!

REGISTER HERE TO JOIN IN! - It's easy and it's free!
Home » Misc » General Fiction Area » Constantine

Constantine
Started by: FeceMan

Forum Jump:
Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread
Zeal Ex Nihilo
Restricted

Account Restricted

Constantine

Hello all, this is my first time posting here (I think this is the correct forums for this sort of thing, even though what I'm posting isn't a story).

I really enjoy writing, but I can't seem to get a story to 'stick' with me, and I came up with an idea for this on vacation. The idea was spurred after I saw the movie Constantine and I was wondering if you all could give me a little help.

Basically, the story is going to be about a fellow who lives in a grungy city, knows a little magic, and does a Mulder and Scully thing with reports of the paranormal (or just plain odd).

However, I can't exactly solidify the plot. I'm thinking of doing something with werewolves, but the conflict is rather hazy. Any help here is appreciated, even if it doesn't involve traditional things (i.e., werewolves, vampires, etc.).

One of the main problems I am having is steering away from clichéd magic. I don't want some doofy Harry Potter wizard (sorry fanboys, I like the series but I don't want my character to end up like Ron) or some idiotic Wind-Water-Earth-Fire elementalist. I am trying to devise a means by which I can implement magic without it seeming as the 'same old' thing or being too hashed together (if any of you have played Ultima Online, you'll understand what I mean).

I would like to do one of two things with the story as well:

1. Create a series of short stories with the main character remaining the same, telling about his exploits and "cases".