KillerMovies - Movies That Matter!

REGISTER HERE TO JOIN IN! - It's easy and it's free!
Home » Communications » News & Questions » Computer Help Forum » Netgear router won't accept dynamic IP

Netgear router won't accept dynamic IP
Started by: menokokoro

Forum Jump:
Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread
menokokoro
Senior Member

Gender: Male
Location: United States

Netgear router won't accept dynamic IP

WHAT THE PROBLEM IS.
So, our 10 y/o router crapped out on us two days ago, so we bought a new Netgear WNDR3700 v2 router. And during setup it was saying that our IP was static, I said no, had me do a few things (type old mac address), still says it's static. Now, I know we have a Dynamic IP, I spoke with Digis (our internet provider) and they told me that they don't have static IP.

WHAT'S BEEN DONE.
I've reset both the router and "modem" several times, went into the router settings through the internet browser, manually put in the settings, I've taken the new router back, and exchanged it for another of the same kind, thinking it might be the particular router. No matter what I do, the router doesn't seem able to pick up the IP Address when it is set to dynamic IP. I WAS able to get the internet working by changing it to static and simply telling it the CURRENT IP address, but that is just a temp fix, since the IP will change.

MY QUESTION.
What am I missing!?


__________________

Old Post Feb 15th, 2012 05:03 PM
menokokoro is currently offline Click here to Send menokokoro a Private Message Find more posts by menokokoro Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote Quick Quote
ThorinWoofer
Static Stance

Gender: Male
Location: Your mom...

I would have bought a different router, instead of exchanging it for the same one.

I would call the help line 800 number, and ask why your router isn't registering properly, hopefully they can guide you through a setup without the quick fix.


__________________

Old Post Feb 16th, 2012 02:22 AM
ThorinWoofer is currently offline Click here to Send ThorinWoofer a Private Message Find more posts by ThorinWoofer Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote Quick Quote
Barker
hello

Gender: Male
Location:

Either call Netgear or get a different router. Any time I've set up a dynamic IP on a router it does it's thing automatically.


__________________

ok im back whaddup fellas

Old Post Feb 16th, 2012 03:23 AM
Barker is currently offline Click here to Send Barker a Private Message Find more posts by Barker Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote Quick Quote
menokokoro
Senior Member

Gender: Male
Location: United States

We got it working by getting a new router, and saved $20 in the process...so it was almost worth it!


__________________

Old Post Feb 27th, 2012 08:55 PM
menokokoro is currently offline Click here to Send menokokoro a Private Message Find more posts by menokokoro Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote Quick Quote
Barker
hello

Gender: Male
Location:


__________________

ok im back whaddup fellas

Old Post Feb 28th, 2012 01:19 AM
Barker is currently offline Click here to Send Barker a Private Message Find more posts by Barker Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote Quick Quote
Stoic
Avenger

Gender: Male
Location: United States, New Jersey

Try this out if you ever have another problem.

1. Type http://192.168.0.1 (On some router models, http://192.168.1.1) in a browser. The router login screen appears.

2. The username is always admin, and the default password is password. (On some older routers, it's 1234.) The router logs you in.

3. Click Maintenance > Set Password.

4. In the Old Password box, type the default password.

5. In both the New Password and Repeat New Password boxes, type your new password. Write it down where you won't misplace it, such as on your router installation instructions or your ISP configuration sheet.

Contrary to much "expert" advice, there is little practical risk writing down passwords. Compare that to the inconvenience, months from now, of discovering you can't remember it. Passwords should not be too simple: use characters, numbers, and symbols. It's better not to use names or dates you think are easy to remember: your birthday, your dog's name, your username backward, etc.


__________________

Old Post Mar 22nd, 2012 08:35 AM
Stoic is currently offline Click here to Send Stoic a Private Message Find more posts by Stoic Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote Quick Quote
All times are UTC. The time now is 02:19 AM.
  Last Thread   Next Thread

Home » Communications » News & Questions » Computer Help Forum » Netgear router won't accept dynamic IP

Email this Page
Subscribe to this Thread
   Post New Thread  Post A Reply

Forum Jump:
Search by user:
 

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON

Text-only version
 

< - KillerMovies.com - Forum Archive - Forum Rules >


© Copyright 2000-2006, KillerMovies.com. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by: vBulletin, copyright ©2000-2006, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.