KillerMovies - Movies That Matter!

REGISTER HERE TO JOIN IN! - It's easy and it's free!
Home » Misc » General Fiction Area » The Fly

The Fly
Started by: Etrigan

Forum Jump:
Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread
Etrigan
?

The Fly

It's desperately unoriginal but I'm not very good at writing long stories so I tried writing a short horror/action story about a man trying to kill a giant fly in a shop and I thought I'd post it up here. I know the ending isn't very good; I was sort of rushing it by then.

Enjoy!

There was a giant fly squatting on Mr Ling’s desk in the convenience store.

When I say giant, I mean giant- this thing took up pretty much most of the desk. It was obviously the source of the incessant buzzing I had heard from my apartment above. It was hunched over the desk, having knocked the cash register to the floor in a scattered pile of coins and notes. Its ugly, spindly little black feelers were writhing busily around one another as if mating. The dim light of the shop gleamed off the blackish-blue sheen of its hairy back. Its eyes were the size of bicycle tyres, but thankfully turned away from me. They were sectioned with a network of what seemed like a million red pentagons.

It had wings, as well. These were each as long as my arm, translucent and membranous. They jutted out of the monster insect’s shoulders, sticking up into the air, and occasionally they would vibrate, turning into a shimmering blur, letting off a deafening, thrumming buzz. The creature’s legs shifted about on the desk, clittering loudly across the wood and metal. As it performed a clumsy half-turn I saw exactly what it was sitting on, and a monstrous bolt of panic hit my heart like a bullet.