LotR vs. PotC

Text-only Version: Click HERE to see this thread with all of the graphics, features, and links.

Slonik9
I am so angrymad! Pirates of the Caribbean had I think 5 nominations for the Oscars, and because of Lord of the Rings, Pirates of the Caribbean didn't win ANY! I was sure that POTC would atleast win one of them.
Man, I wish Johnny Depp could win Best Actor for POTC, and he didn't, ohh well... Maybe next year.....roll eyes (sarcastic)

Any comments?
confused

glenn
Your not the only one who was disapointed

aniron
I was so glad lotr won 11 oscars, and if johnny depp had won best actor that would have been the iceing on the cake, but I don't think it's because of lotr potc didn't win, they didn't choose to be nominated and other films were there too you know.
And they still get 40 grand for being nominated, and the academy rarely go for comical performances. -trust me I'm a movie expert. smile

orlandoOYEA
I agree, i dont think LOTR took chances away from POTC, i think it was only in 2 of the same catagories anyway.

aniron
why didn't johnny depp win?
But think about it, it took until rotk for it to get so many awards, so maybe the potc sequels will carry out the same effect.

JohnnyIsMadSexy
yeah thats what i was thinking, but i felt horrible when sean penn won. JOHNNY DESERVED IT!

JohnnyIsMadSexy
**JOHNNY DESERVED THE AWARD I MEAN**

JacksBabe777
I think that POTC should have won for best visual effects. like rotk was good but some of it looked fake. i think all the sceletons(can't spell. bad day, long night, tired) were really awsome. they should have won that one. but NOOOOOOOO!

Slonik9
It's because POTC and LOTR were in all the categories together but ONE!
And why didn't Johnny win the award for best actor?
But I'm sure that he will win it next year, he has a great oscar-type movie, thats coming up!

orlandoOYEA