Slave?

Text-only Version: Click HERE to see this thread with all of the graphics, features, and links.

obidad
OK, newbie here who's been reading around the forums for a while now. I checked through several pages of the archives, and I didn't see one subject from the 1st movie addressed. Forgive me if I missed it.

Anakin is supposed to be a slave correct? Now when I picture a slave I think of someone working endlessly at menial labor without pay and sometimes cruelly supervised.

Anakin was a slave who seemed to work after school for the local salvage yard. Shmi is never seen working. Anakin and mom have enough money for Ani to constuct several Tatooine equivalents of a Formula 1 racecar. And enough money to build a sophisticated droid. They also eat fresh fruit which I assume would be rather pricey on a desert planet instead of the Tatooine equivalent of rice and bread.

Wouldn't it have made a tad more sense to have Ani and mom actually be treated like slaves? Have them do hard labor under the two suns for a master who at least is verbally abusive, with attacks by Tuscan raiders always a threat. When the Naboo craft has to land in the middle of nowhere, there's an easy setup for Qui Gon and Ani to encounter each other. Then in Ep 2, have the slave owner steal Shmi back from the Lars and end up killing her, leading to a little dark side whooping from Anakin.

I think this does several things. It accentuates the underlying anger within Anakin that would arise from such an upbringing. Having been controlled rather cruelly as a child it would also explain his desire for control shown and his thirst to be in power in the following episodes.

You would still want Anakin to act like a typical happy go lucky kid for the most part so you don't hammer the audience with " this kid's gonna be a psycho Sith when he grows up". Maybe a flash of anger a little stronger than his statement to Padme that he's a person not a slave.