Anyone sick of historical films?

Text-only Version: Click HERE to see this thread with all of the graphics, features, and links.

king_arthur
I'm talking movies like Troy, King arthur, Alexander that all came out at the same year. It was the success of Braveheart and Gladiator that led to these movies being made. All of these movies took alot of style from Braveheart and Gladiator to help make there movies. Revenge, big battles, 3 hrs long, similar music scores, long speechs, the word freedom used over and over. They're hardly ever historicaly correct. Perhaps audiences grow tired of seeing CG armies fighting at each other. I'm just beginning to be sick of them. But I did enjoy Last Samurai and Kingdom of Heaven. Any opinions?

jaden101
i thought king arthur, alexander, troy and kingdom of heaven were utterly dire...gladiator not much better...or last samauri...and braveheart magnificent...come to think of it...why do i keep bothering to watch them when new ones come out

T.M
Originally posted by jaden101
i thought king arthur, alexander, troy and kingdom of heaven were utterly dire...gladiator not much better...or last samauri...and braveheart magnificent...come to think of it...why do i keep bothering to watch them when new ones come out

i have to agree although i thought The Last Samuri was quite good for a Tom Cruise.

jaden101
Originally posted by T.M
i have to agree although i thought The Last Samuri was quite good for a Tom Cruise.

or crap for a billy connelly film...depending on your point of view stick out tongue

KharmaDog
I'm sick of historically inaccurate films.

As for braveheart, it was a fine hollywodd film, but I wouldn't quite call it historic. As a historic film goes, it sucked.

king_arthur
And now Hannibal the Conqueror is going to be the next historic film. The bad news is that Vin Diesel is starring/directing and using ancient language.

What's next. Julius Caesar, Cleopatra....

jaden101